School Energy Coalition
School Energy Coalition HomeNews & EventsAbout UsContact UsPublications & Links

News + Events

August 24, 2012


Assembly Bill 1186 Update


SEC Members:


Your action is needed now on AB 1186 (Skinner) – please use this draft letter to forward to the Senate Committee on Environmental Quality (EQ). 

We are going to need a big push today and Monday.  Email letters to the following Senate Committee email list:;; ; ; ; ; ;

Also cc Skinner’s staff: ;


Due to recent amendments, the AB 1186 has been sent back to the Senate EQ Committee to be heard again.  Time is of the essence as the end of session is only a week away and bills must move to the floor before the deadline.

The bill is also facing more challenges in the Senate as the consultants on the Senate side have a more traditional view about ratepayer dollars and may not be supportive of a directive to move dollars to schools as a method for meeting the state’s AB 32 goals.  We do have good friends on the EQ Committee in Lowenthal, Hancock and perhaps Kehoe – but they need our help to make the case and, therefore, letters must go to all Committee members. 


** If you live or have a project in these districts I encourage you to make a personal call in addition to sending a letter!


Members of Senate EQ – All phone numbers


Simitian (Chair):  (916) 651-4011 -- Senate District 11, spans three counties -- Santa Clara, San Mateo and Santa Cruz -- and includes the following communities: San Carlos, Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton, East Palo Alto, Palo Alto, Stanford, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Cupertino, Campbell, Santa Cruz, Capitola, and a third of San Jose


Strickland (Vice-Chair): (916) 651-4019  -- Senate District 19, includes portions of Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, and Ventura County. In Los Angeles County, the district incorporates Santa Clarita.  Cities of Santa Barbara, Buellton, Carpinteria, Goleta, Isla Vista, Lompoc, Los Alamos, Mission Canyon, Mission Hills, Montecito, Orcutt, Santa Ynez, Solvang, Summerland, Toro Canyon, Vandenberg AFB, and Vandenberg Village.  Ventura, Camarillo, Casa Conejo, El Rio, Meiners Oaks, Mira Monte, Moorpark, Oak Park, Ojai, Simi Valley, and Thousand Oaks


Blakeslee:  (916) 651-4015 --  Senate District 15, which includes the coastal counties of San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and the county of Santa Clara.


Hancock:  (916) 651-4009  -- Senate District 9, which includes the cities of Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Castro Valley, Dublin, El Sobrante, Emeryville, Livermore, Oakland, Piedmont, Richmond, and San Pablo


Kehoe: (916) 651-4039  -- Senate District 39 -- Del Mar and Lemon Grove, and parts of San Diego, Casa de Oro-Mo, La Presa, and Spring Valley. 


Lowenthal:  (916) 651-4027 -- Senate District 27, includes the communities of: Artesia, Avalon, Bellflower, Cerritos, Downey, Florence-Graham, Hawaiian Gardens, Lakewood, Long Beach, Lynwood, Paramount, Signal Hill, South Gate, and Willowbrook


Pavley:  (916) 651-4023 --  Senate District 23, which includes the cities of Agoura Hills, Beverly Hills, Calabasas, Hidden Hills, Malibu, Oxnard, Port Hueneme, Santa Monica, West Hollywood and Westlake Village, as well as several communities in the City of Los Angeles, including  Bel Air, Beverly-Fairfax, Beverly Glen Canyon, Brentwood, Canoga Park, Century City, Chatsworth, Encino, Hollywood, Mt. Olympus, Northridge, Pacific Palisades, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, Tarzana, Topanga, West Los Angeles, West Hills, Westwood and Woodland Hills


Thank you for your help and action on this important bill for school energy projects in California and SEC!

    School Energy Coalition, 1130 K Street, Suite 210, Sacramento, CA 95814
    Voice: 916.441.3300, Fax: 916.441.3893, Email:
      © 2011 School Energy Coalition